Byron Menke Installed as President with the 2022 Leadership Team

(Photo left to right: Jen Burkamper, Shaner Magalhães, Krista Clark, Byron Menke, Travis Bushaw, John Dunn)

Recently Byron Menke was installed as the 2022 President of the Iowa Association of REALTORS® along with the rest of the IAR Officers. Per the IAR Bylaws, Byron and the 2022 IAR Leadership members will begin their terms at the conclusion of the National Association of REALTORS® Board of Directors meeting on November 15.  

“The Iowa Association of REALTORS® has a 105 year history of strong leaders, and Byron will add to that legacy. The Iowa market is as strong as ever and our membership is at an all-time high. Byron’s guidance and wisdom will set up IAR for a successful year and a bright future,” stated IAR CEO, Gavin Blair.

Byron Menke has been in real estate for over 24 years and an auctioneer for 43 years. He was inspired by his grandfather’s knowledge of construction which led him to earning his construction degree from Northeast Community College of Nebraska. Shortly after high school, he went to auctioneering school and developed his love for the business. He started auctioneering with local auctioneers and in the local sale barns.

As he grew his auction business, he decided to obtain his real estate license. He worked for several years in the Council Bluffs area as a Realtor® and achieved his broker’s license in 2005. Since then he has grown his business and now has 10 agents at Menke Auction & Realty in Treynor, Iowa. 

Byron has been very busy at both the local and state REALTOR® associations. He was President of the Southwest Iowa Association of REALTORS® (SWIAR) in 2007 after serving on numerous committees and the Board of Directors. He was named SWIAR’s REALTOR of the Year in 2009. He was also awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by SWIAR. Menke was a Regional Vice President for the Iowa Association of REALTORS® (IAR) for 5 years. He also served on the IAR Executive Committee and continued to serve on every major IAR Committee during his career. Byron received IAR’s highest honor in 2017 as a recipient of the O.G. Powell/Joan Ballantyne Distinguished Service Award, to recognize his many years of outstanding service to the real estate industry. For the past 3 years, Byron has served on committees with the National Association of REALTORS®. 

Community involvement and giving back has always been a priority for Byron. While raising a young family, he went through the EMS training and volunteered for the local fire department. He served as President of Westfair and continues to volunteer. He has worked with countless local charities to develop silent and live auction fundraisers. In each of the last 25 years, Byron volunteers his time as an auctioneer for more than 25 fundraising & benefit events. In recognition of his generosity to his community, Byron received an IAR Good Neighbor Award a few years ago. 

Byron and his significant other, Julie Eden, live on a timbered acreage in the beautiful Loess Hills of Western Iowa which they share with deer, wild turkey, and other wildlife. Byron enjoys spending time with family and friends, playing elaborate practical jokes on friends, and if time allows, a round of golf or spin on his motorcycle. Byron adores his family of two adult children, their spouses and four beautiful granddaughters. He loves the history behind antiques and is an avid watcher of Antiques Roadshow, American Pickers, and Barnwood Builders.

To get to know Byron better, watch this fun short videoof Rapid Fire Questions with Gavin Blair, IAR CEO and Byron Menke recorded earlier this year. 

Congratulations to the 2022 IAR Leadership Team 

President: Byron Menke, Treynor

President-Elect: Krista Clark, Newton

Vice President: Shaner Magalhães, Coralville

2nd Vice President: Travis Bushaw, Oelwein

Past President: Jen Burkamper, Ames

Treasurer: John Dunn, Des Moines


Regional Vice Presidents

Region 1: Brad Sanderson, Spirit Lake

Region 2: Mike Franey, Carroll

 Region 3: Diana Symonds, Clear Lake

Region 4: Jen Stanbrough, West Des Moines

Region 5: Gerald Sorensen, Cedar Falls

Region 6: Tyler Riddle, Coralville

Region 7: Regen Johnson, Davenport

Region 8: Steve Campbell, Ottumwa

All of these members of IAR leadership are Realtor members that volunteer many hours of their time each month to help shape the direction of our association!

Related Articles

Now Accepting Nominations: Gary & Judy Stevens Scholarship
2024 Events: Mark Your Calendar!
Convention 2023 RECAP: What A Year!