Convention 2019 Recap

Over 575 Realtors and industry professionals attended this year’s Performance Driven themed IAR Convention in Downtown Des Moines in October. Our Crawl for Cause kicked off the event visiting some fun bars and restaurants downtown while raising money for Ronald McDonald House.

John Smaby, the President of the National Association of REALTORS discussed what is new at NAR during our IAR 360. “Iowa Nice Guy” Scott Siepker entertained the crowd of 300 during his Keynote presentation. 

Lots of knowledge and CE were gained during our full education sessions with national speakers. Attendees enjoyed learning from Trista Curzydlo, Jeremias Maneiro, Pam Ermen, Paula Monthofer, and Leigh brown. 

Carl Carter, Jr. and Jen Stanbrough spoke to a crowd of 250 at Thursday’s Safety Breakfast: Legacies to Keep You Safe. Their heartfelt stories and tips reminded us all to keep safety at the forefront of our business. 

The REALTOR Foundation of Iowa’s Joan Ballantyne Live and Silent Auction raised more than they have in recent years. Our auctioneer, Byron Menke, kept the crowd on their toes while helping raise over $20,000.  A special thanks to all that donated or purchased items! 

The Casino Fun Night brought many laughs at the Vegas costumes and characters. Attendees enjoyed winning big with their fun money and networking with Realtor friends from around the state. 

IAR’s Inaugural Gala started with a bang as the Isiserettes Drill & Drum Corp showed their impressive skills. John Goede thanked everyone for their part in making 2019 a successful year at the association. Leigh Brown installed Scott Wendl as the 2020 IAR President. Scott and the rest of the IAR 2020 Leadership begins their term November 11. The B2wins entertained everyone with their musical talents. 

Read here about our Four Award Recipients at Inaugural Gala.
Jo Jenkins
Jon Yocum
Jen Kingland
Dotty Schimmels


Check out all the fun photos from the event! 


Congrats to the 2020 IAR Leadership Team

President: Scott Wendl, Des Moines

President-Elect: Jen Burkamper, Boone

Vice President: Byron Menke, Treynor

Treasurer: Krista Clark, Ankeny

Past President: John Goede, Spencer

Regional Vice Presidents

Region 1: Brad Sanderson, Spirit Lake

Region 2: Theresa Ruby, Council Bluffs

 Region 3: Zelda Elwood, Mason City

Region 4: John Dunn, West Des Moines

Region 5: Renae Forsyth-Christy, Cedar Rapids

Region 6: Shaner Magalhães, Iowa City

Region 7: Anna Mack, Muscatine

Region 8: Steve Campbell, Ottumwa

 Click here to contact the IAR Leadership Team and learn about the 8 regions. 

Related Articles

Now Accepting Nominations: Gary & Judy Stevens Scholarship
2024 Events: Mark Your Calendar!
Convention 2023 RECAP: What A Year!